Senate Rejects Ethanol Tax Credit Repeal

In a mostly partisan vote, the Senate voted 40-59 to reject an amendment to the Economic Development Revitalization Act.
The amendment, offered by Senator Tom Coburn (OK) would have repealed the $3 billion excise tax credit and the tariff on ethanol imports, known officially as the Global Climate Change Mitigation Incentive Fund.

The thirteen Republican Senators (who all hail from corn-producing states) voting against S. Amdt. 436 to S. 782 were: Blunt (MO), Coats (IN), Cochran (MS), Grassley (IA), Hoeven (ND), Johanns (NE), Kirk (IL), Lugar (IN), Moran (KS), Portman (OH), Roberts (KS), Thune (SD), and Wicker (MS). Six Democrats joined the majority of the Republicans voted in support of the repeal: Cantwell (WA), Lieberman (CT), Manchin (WV), Pryor (AR), Tester (MT), and Webb (VA).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: